Green Day does political ‘sellout’, announces next album, ‘American Idiot II’


Some of Green Day’s fans may consider the former indie band’s next move to be a political sellout.

Their new album, 21st Century Breakdown, isn’t even six months old, but rock band Green Day already has announced plans for their next album.

Scheduled to be released sometime around 2011 or early 2012, Green Day will record and release American Idiot II.

Whereas the 2004 album American Idiot focuses on the band’s look at post-911 America and its discontentment towards President Bush, American Idiot II looks at the band’s growing discontentment with President Barack Obama.

“All of us voted for Barack Obama in 2008, and initially we were very excited about his becoming president,” said lead guitarist and frontman Billy Joe Armstrong. “But now, as we look at how the country’s economy, how all these countries are laughing at us and how the president seems to be engaging in the same type of censorship [expletive] that we thought Bush did, all I can do now is look back to November 2008 and say, ‘Oh [expletive]! What have I done? What the [expletive] was I thinking when I voted for this man?”

With this, American Idiot II plans to focus on how things are really not any better under President Obama, Armstrong said. In fact, they’re getting worse.

Also in the band is bassist Mike Dirnt and drummer Tré Cool.

“We know many people will think we’re selling out because we were so anti-Bush and anti-War on Terror, but we’ve wisened up and have come to realize that, frankly, this current president doesn’t have the first clue what he’s doing,” Dirnt added. “We’ve decided to pull our heads out of the sand and acknowledge that Islamofascism is an exponentially-growing threat, and it’s only going to get worse.”


26 Responses to Green Day does political ‘sellout’, announces next album, ‘American Idiot II’

  1. :) says:

    this is [expletive] fake

  2. richardzowie says:

    No, man, it’s totally legitimate. Billy Joe Armstrong has seen the light after going two weeks without getting high. He sees life lucidly now and realizes the truth.

  3. Josh says:

    Well, all I can say is, “I told you so…”
    This will be a great album to all thoes against Obama (ME) and what he’s doin.

  4. 4 says:

    I HOPE this is true. I’ve found stuff that says they are coming out with a new album soon but none that say anything about “American Idiot II” or it being an Obama bashing album, but i know they dont support Obama as much as they did when he was elected.

    • lf says:

      its bull crap green day said infact that their new album would b back to basics and sound more like dookie so y would they make another concept album

  5. Ni says:

    2 days ago said that Obama needed time and that they didn’t expect that things were going to change quickly.

  6. joel weiss says:

    wow..this comment just ruined my day.. Islamofascism is an exponentially-growing threat, and it’s only going to get worse.”

    my heroes falling for the 911 bullshit..please somebody..god somebody wake billy up to 911 truth..

  7. R U U BEE says:

    This is sweet. Hope its true.

  8. tyhwt says:

    this is a [expletive] fake

  9. DookieBoy says:

    Sorry, not true and will not happen. Trust me.

  10. Georgia says:

    I think (I hope), that American Idiot II will be a nice album 🙂

  11. Plant says:

    lol you guys are idiots

  12. Alex Shedd says:

    i can tell you right now that this is fake. even if green day is “against” obama, i doubt that they would put it into an album whose name is almost as much of a sellout as the cause

  13. sam says:

    just remember these probably arent all candid reports from the mouths of these guys its just those (expletive) reporters that simply reword most if not all thing they say either not live or behind closed doors because the mmadia may not want us to know :/

  14. Jimmy says:

    Billy get over it your becoming such a loser… who cares about barack.. if they are all faggets dont be so anti, sing about real shit not stuff that no one cares about.. and yes you are a sell out…

    Greenday was about drugs n punk roll now its just shit and the last album sucked balls, i was the biggest fan but hate from 2004 onwards.. good on ya dude u care about politics.. stop singing about it and do something about it rather than just take the lime light as a PUNK ROCK singer from everyone else in the industry, ur turing it to complete shit.. here a new title for the album



    have a bong again and chill out u wankers

  15. greendayfreak says:

    omg! greenday will kick blink182’s a this year!!!!!!!!

  16. Shinjo Mayu says:


    *GET IT*

  17. Anthony says:

    They are releasing a new studio album in 2012, Dunno what its going to be called, but not Amreican idiot II… They already wrote 30 new songs and are well into recording it. Also Green Day Support Obama more then they supported Bush…

  18. Naomi says:

    This is a fake article. It’s parody. There are whole website’s like this that write articles like this. It’s purely for entertainment. Green Day’s new album very well might be coming out in 2012, but it will definitely not be a concept album, or sound anything like “American Idiot II”. Anyone who has heard the new songs so far knows that already. Their new songs sound like a mixture of a lot of their past albums. It sounds like American Idiot mixed with Warning, Shenanigans, and there’s some Foxboro Hot Tubs mixed in too. Some of their new stuff even sounds like their old stuff from the early 90’s (before Dookie). It’s not political at all, from what I’ve heard. And yeah, they released a live album in 2011 called “Awesome As Fuck”, featuring live recordings from their tour.

  19. Naomi says:

    And if you really want to see, just search up “Dreamcatcher”, “Stay The Night”, “Amy”, or “Carpe Diem” on YouTube. Those are all new Green Day songs. Some will be on the new album, some were just demos that they haven’t continued playing live. They recently did a bunch of secret/surprise shows in California and NYC, in August, September, and October, and played about 16 new songs. “Amy”, “Carpe Diem” and “Stay The Night” were the ones they keep playing, so I think it’s a safe bet they’ll include them on a new album. Especially “Stay The Night”, since they’ve been playing that one at soundchecks since the summer of 2010. And “Carpe Diem”, because Billie Joe’s been talking about it a lot.

  20. GD says:

    Its obviously fake. Greenday are not anti muslim and are anti racist. They do not hate obama. And whoever wrote this and called Gd indie , is Complete and utter bullshit. THIS IS FAKE. cant wait for there actual new ablum set to be late nxt year or 2012. God some people will beleive anything

  21. Audrey says:

    Hahah that is SO fake.

  22. kevin says:

    F*cking love green day. F*cking hate obama. Works well

  23. A sympathetic person says:

    Haha, Im guessing your all american? Im australian. And you are all a bunch of American idiots for believing this 😉

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: